Executive Director
Future Coalition
About Katie Eder

Katie Eder, 20-years-old, is the Executive Director of Future Coalition. Built by youth activists for youth activists, Future Coalition is a network of youth-led organizations and youth organizers across the US that fosters community and collaboration while providing young people with the tools, resources, and support to power their ideas and amplify their impact.

Since launching in fall of 2018, Future Coalition has been organizing young people around a variety of issues including climate change, voting, and gun violence prevention. Under Katie’s leadership, the coalition has grown to include more than 40+ youth-led organizations and thousands of youth leaders and changemakers across the country.

As a major force in the youth climate movement, Future Coalition coordinates the US Youth Climate Strike Coalition, the group that organizes the national campaigns for the climate strikes in the US and led the coordination of the historic September 20 climate strike with nearly a million participants striking in over 1350 locations around the US.

Future Coalition is currently gearing up to support youth-led voter registration and get out the vote initiatives across the US. Building on the success of their efforts in the 2018 midterm elections, where they organized and coordinated more than 500 student walkouts for Walkout To Vote which contributed to a record youth turnout, they hope to increase the youth turnout yet again in November 2020

Recently named to Forbes 30 Under 30, Katie is also a co-founder of 50 Miles More, an organization working to end gun violence in the United States, and Kids Tales, a nonprofit that empowers kids to find their voice using creative writing. Katie is currently taking two gap years before starting at Stanford University in the fall of 2020.

View Other Speakers

Daniela Fernandez
Founder & CEO
Sustainable Ocean Alliance
Michelle Deatrick
Chair and Founder
DNC Environment and Climate Crisis Council
Kat Lockwood
Organizing Director
CALPIRG Students
Phil Sharp
Board Chair
Hon. Jackie Biskupski
35th Mayor
Salt Lake City, Utah
Meighen Speiser
Executive Director